Artist Fellow on the Clore Leadership Programme

In October 2010, The Clore Leadership Programme, founded by Dame Vivien Duffield, announced 21 new Fellows. This brings the total number of cultural leaders who have become Fellows to 178. Now in its seventh year, the Clore Leadership Programme has received international acclaim as one of the foremost providers of leadership development for the cultural sector. In 2010 the number of applications rose by 40% compared to the previous year, a clear sign of the continuing success and growing reputation of the Fellowship Programme.

2010/11 Clore Fellows

2010/11 Clore Fellows

Sir John Tusa, Chair of the Clore Leadership Programme commented:
“In these uncertain and challenging times, the cultural sector needs resilient, creative, skilled and entrepreneurial leaders more than ever. The Clore Leadership Programme can help develop leaders with the confidence, networks and knowledge to create opportunities, forge partnerships and foster an environment where creativity can flourish.”

The Fellows were chosen from across the creative and cultural sector, in areas ranging from archives to theatre, and including visual and performing arts, creative industries, cultural policy, digital media, libraries and museums. For the first time, the Programme announced a dedicated Heritage and Conservation Fellowship, thanks to funding from the Mercers’ Charitable Foundation and another for an artist as leader, supported by the Cultural Leadership Programme. The UK Fellows are joined by three international Fellows from Hungary and Hong Kong.

The Fellows started their Programme in September at a residential leadership course at Bore Place in Kent, at which guest speakers included Alan Davey (Arts Council England), Adrian Ellis (Jazz at Lincoln Centre New York), Vicky Featherstone (National Theatre of Scotland), Tony Hall (Royal Opera House), Michael Kaiser (Kennedy Center Washington DC), Patrick McKenna (Ingenious Media Group), Julia Middleton (Common Purpose) and Nicholas Serota (Tate).

The impact of the Clore Leadership Programme has been wide-ranging and Fellows have found many different environments in which to be leaders. Some have set up new charities or businesses or are working independently; others have returned to their jobs with renewed confidence, added dynamism, more extensive networks and advanced skills; and others have moved into new jobs, for instance taking leadership roles in museums, galleries, theatres, dance organisations, orchestras, festivals and library services. These include organisations such as Manchester Museum, Scarborough Museums Trust and the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam; the Whitworth Gallery and the Royal Academy; Northern Stage, West Yorkshire Playhouse and Bristol Old Vic; Pheonix Dance and The Place; the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra; LIFT, Salisbury International Arts Festival and Spitalfields Music; and Devon County Council Library Services.

The list of Clore Fellows for 2010/11 is:

Rebecca Ball from Brighton ; Angie Bual from Glasgow; Jessamy Carlson from London; Ferenc Csák from Budapest; Kate Fellows from Leeds; Suzanne Hay from Cardiff; Anna Higgs from London; Reyahn King from Merseyside; Mai Lin Li from Yorkshire; Eva Martinez from London; Isabel Mortimer from London; Sarah Punshon from Northamptonshire; Lalitha Rajan from Glasgow; Michael Sarna from London; Joshua Sofaer from Derbyshire; Sarah Stannage from Peterborough; Peter Tullin from London; Tilly Walnes from London; Chan Woon Wai from Hong Kong; Lisa Westcott from London; Lynn Foon Chi Yau from Hong Kong.

Clore Leadership Programme
Chair: Sir John Tusa
Director: Sue Hoyle