Morland Court: Competition

How Morland Court Got Its Name
story and picture competition
***win an iPad***

Morland Court lies at the heart of the Werrington New Town Development in Peterborough. Built in 1986 by Minster General Housing Association, it has 51 flats. In 2009 Morland Court formed a Residents Association and joined forces with Hyde Minster to improve the environment for residents.

Morland Court wants to be a safe, pleasant place to live, and to reach out to its neighbours across Werrington. The Residents Association invite you to enter a creative competition, with the theme of HOW MORLAND COURT GOT ITS NAME.

Your entry can be factual or fantastical, so feel free to look in history books or to stretch your imagination to the limit.

You can enter with:

· a written story or account
· a recorded story (for example a short video)
· a drawn or painted picture
· a photograph

Elements of the winning entry will be included in a new sign for Morland Court to be unveiled in the summer of 2012 and the overall winner will receive an iPad.

There are two categories of entry: 16 and over, and under 16 (on the closing date). The competition will close on 31st May 2012. All entries must be received by the end of May to qualify.

Terms and conditions apply. Visit the competition website for more details.

A series of events will be happening at Morland Court over the next months. Follow us to find out more:

Please write your name, telephone, postcode and email address on your entry and which category you are entering: over 16 or under 16 on the 31st May 2012. Entries can be either hard copy or burnt to a DVD. They should be dropped off to Werrington Library during normal opening hours or sent to: How Morland Court Got Its Name, Werrington Library, Staniland Way, Werrington PE4 6JT

How Morland Court Got Its Name is a project by Joshua Sofaer for Morland Court Residents Association and is part of Citizen Power Peterborough.

Competition Judges:

Charlotte Wildermoth, Community Engagement Officer, Hyde Minster
Donna Lynas, Artist Director, Wysing Arts Centre
Georgina Chatfield, Citizen Power, RSA
John Abbott, Chair, Morland Court Residents Association
Paul Spencer, Morland Court Residents Association
Stuart Payn, Artist

Chair of Judging Panel: Joshua Sofaer, Artist

Flier illustration and design by Hannah Robinson.